How to Become a Crane Operator: Steps to Take

by Larry Peck

When you are picking the type of crane you wish to get specialized in operating, first you have to select on the location you want to work, also concluding the cranes that suit the specific situation at your place of work. With that, you can make the final decision of what type of crane you would want to operate.

Article Sponsored By Baton Rouge Grease Trap Cleaning and Septic Service

crane operator

Complete the Requirements

Becoming a crane operator demands you to have achieved your high school diploma or GED certification as its alike, and be 18 years old or older. Some training schools necessitate aspirants to approve the medical exam before getting undertook for a training class, the same aspirant must meet ASME B30 physical requirements. You could present your DOT medical examiner’s certificate if you have.

Find a Crane Operator Training Course

You can become a crane operator trainee by signing up at a specialized school. While selecting one, make sure it has a high student passing percentage and possesses the modern equipment and professional trainers to learn from.

During your time at the school, the crane operator training course instructs apprentices about the gear upkeep and safe operation. The class will also wrap topics on arranging and motioning, pre and post-operation inspection, existing criteria such as the ASME and OSHA legislation, and other subjects that are thought obligatory. You will spend most of the time actively functioning the crane, studying from the trainer and cooperating with fellow trainees.

It is not recommended to learn from online courses.


Take the necessary Written and Practical Tests

Taking and approving the written and practical tests and becoming licensed is not ordinarily necessary except if it is required by your potential employer or by the state where you will be working in.

At the moment, there 17 states and 6 cities needing crane operators to be certified and licensed, the states are California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Washington, West Virginia. Meanwhile, the cities are Chicago, New Orleans, New York City, Omaha, Philadelphia, and Washington D.C. These are that either require you to have either license or recognized NCCCO certification.

The NCCCO certification is known far and wide, and to get this certification you will be needed to take both the written and practical exams. You can take the tests in any order, but you need to pass the other within a lapse of 12 months, otherwise, you will need to retake the certification process from the start.

Going Through Apprenticeship Program

To become a qualified crane operator, you have to spend more time studying the field, and for doing so you can sign up in an internship program.

The aim of the apprenticeship program is to provide the much-needed information and expertise in hands-on field operations for the trainee to function the equipment securely and competently. The extent required to conclude this apprenticeship program will rest mostly on the trainee’s capability to comprehend diverse skills and apply them to achieve a multiplicity of chores and matters at hand.

Thank you for visiting our website today.  We hope you are finding good information on our site.  Please contact us with any comments or questions you may have about our site or cranes in general.   If you have any great tips to share with us, please submit your tips as well.   We do ask that you also support us by visiting our sponsor’s site for all Sewer and Septic Tank Services in Baton Rouge.

Continue Reading